A unique cotton mill from 1841, legacy of the industrial vitality of Ter. Two turbines remain in operation, one of which dates back to 1860 and powers the busbars and machinery. An ideal space to understand how industry has used the river Ter since the 19th century.
The Museum of the Ter is a dynamic space located on the banks of the river Ter where it passes through Manlleu (Osona). It offers its visitors 1, 500 m2 of exhibitions and a great number of activities to learn about the unique industrialization process in this part of inland Catalonia and the biodiversity of Mediterranean rivers. Situated on Passeig del Ter, in the former factory of Can Sanglas, the Museum of the Ter is a testament to the industrial vitality of the central stretch of the Ter, the protagonist of industrialization in two of the most representative sectors of production: textile and mechanical constructions.
The Museum of the Ter also includes the Centre for the Study of Mediterranean Rivers (CERM), dedicated to environmental education and awareness, as well as to the conservation and research of Mediterranean rivers.
The former cotton factory of Can Sanglas is the starting point for finding out the mark left in Osona by manufacturers Martí Sanglas and Bonaventura Mias, who were both given permission in 1833 to use the water of the Ter to set up a spinning mill.
The Can Sanglàs cotton factory, which opened its doors in 1841, is considered the first factory in the central stretch of the Ter to install a hydraulic turbine, a machine which replaced the traditional water wheels used until the nineteenth century. The Fontaine de Can Sanglas turbine was manufactured in Girona and began operation in 1860, generating 12 CV which powered the spinning machines.